A Little Taco Twist w/ Pulled Jackfruit ‘Meat’!

A Little Taco Twist w/ Pulled Jackfruit 'Meat'!

I am absolutely mind-blown.
Jackfruit tacos were an absolute HIT!

“Wait…” you say. “Fruit in… tacos?”
I know, I know… it just doesn’t make sense. But the thing is, I am surprised this isn’t a THING that people do all the time!

It started with a can of Jackfruit packed in a brine.
I rinsed it thoroughly, added it to a pot, seasoned it, and let it do its thang!
Jackfruit is very mild and takes on the wonderfully vibrant spices you would find in super yummy and savoury tacos. The taste and texture remind me of hearts of palm – just delicious!

Here are the deets:
* 1 can of Jackfruit – in brine, rinsed thoroughly, and core cut away from flesh of fruit
* one whole tomato – blended in a blender/magic bullet/vitamix, OR use stewed canned pureed tomatoes, whatever you like
* 2 tsp each chili powder, cumin, onion powder
* 2 cloves garlic – minced
* half an onion – sliced
* lots of ground pepper
* 1/2 tsp mustard powder
* 1 tbsp. coconut palm sugar
* salt to taste
* 1 tbsp. coconut oil
* TOPPINGS: cilantro, half an onion sliced, green onion, salsa, pickled jalapeno peppers, sliced tomato, been puree or refried beans, and I added some goat milk feta cheese (JUST THIS ONCE!)
* Corn tortillas
IMG_20131206_114448

Please feel free to incorporate your favourite taco toppings! Go ahead! Get creative and try something new! 🙂

How to:
** In a pot on medium heat add coconut oil, onions and garlic and sauté until transluscent.
** While the onions etc. are cooking, take the Jackfruit and cut out the hard core, like you would do with pineapple slices. Then, take the Jackfruit in your hands and crumble up and peel apart. This is when it will start to look like ‘pulled meat’. Add to pot with all the spices/sugar and tomato puree.
** Bring to a boil, and then turn down to low and let simmer down for 15-20 minutes until filling is thick. If you feel like you want a saucier consistency, please add some water to your liking!

IMG_20131206_114210

** The corn tortillas need a little love. Place 10 in your microwave, folded up between a kitchen towel and heat for 15 seconds each. I have a very credible source who has given me these strict instructions 😉 . If you do not have a microwave, place only tortillas (no kitchen towel) in the oven at 250F for 2 minutes and they should come out steamy and bendable. If they break and flake, put them back in!
**Now, add your fave fillings and eat them up!

Doesn’t food taste better when you’ve put a little love into it?

Well, this was fun!! 😀

Enjoy this recipe! After all, it is a goodie!

Feed your soul,
~xo

6 thoughts on “A Little Taco Twist w/ Pulled Jackfruit ‘Meat’!

  1. I keep meaning to try jackfruit but haven’t yet. You say it’s available in a can … in a grocery store? healthfood store?
    Thanks for stopping by my blog and liking my post as well as becoming a follower.

    • Hey There!
      I found the jackfruit in a regular supermarket, like a no frills, food basics sort of store – nothing fancy 🙂
      I haven’t found it at the natural food market as of yet, but I will keep searching! Make sure you get the one in a brine, I wasn’t sure which to choose so I grabbed a sweet one too, but that one would not have worked bc it tasted like a lychee!
      I hope you try it soon and enjoy it as much as I did. And also, thanks for stopping by on this end too!
      Cheers!

  2. Awesome recipe! I must try this. Can I ask where you got the jackfruit? Asian supermarket? The only canned version I’ve seen is in a sweet syrup.. having trouble finding this type.. Thanks for this!

    • Thank you!
      I found it in a basic supermarket in a big city, but I’m sure that if you sought out some Asian markets they may have it. The one in the syrup will not work in this case, it is cut and packaged differently and its gooey, which is not the texture you want when it comes to tacos!
      Happy searching 🙂

Leave a Reply

