Savoury Potato Wedges w/ Homemade Ketchup.

Savoury Potato Wedges w/ Homemade Ketchup.

Cravings! Cravings! Cravings!

I have been craving French fries lately. I have never been crazy keen on French fries, you know, have them on ‘the side’ instead of a salad once in a while. But since making healthier choices, I find myself craving junk foods from another relm! If I crave chocolate, I have chocolate. If I crave French fries, then I have French fries! Mind you, I’ll make the healthier version of it so I don’t fall too far behind on the health kick!

A few tips on how to keep it healthy!
** Baked not fried
** Use natural nut butters in combination with cocoa powder to make something sweet
** Steam instead of sauté (if you prefer sautéing just use less oil and a bit of water)
** Try grapeseed or coconut oils as they can withstand higher cooking/baking temperatures and their chemical structure will stay intact. When a chemical structure changes, trans-fats or toxic properties become bio-avail which we don’t want.

Okay, now let’s talk French fries, and… HOMEMADE KETCHUP?!
YESSS!! It is the best ketchup that I have tasted to this date!
Believe it or not, it’s easy to make and overall takes about an hour – 10 minutes or so to gather, chop and grate the ingredients, and then 50 minutes for the flavours to simmer and develop in the pot! The hardest part is waiting patiently for this stuff to reduce! He, he.

Okay let’s do this so the timing is right and both are cooked to perfection at the same time, or close anyways.

Ketchup:
* 1 clove garlic – finely chopped
* 1 onion – chopped
* 1 stalk celery
* 2 med. tomatoes – seeds and flesh intact – everything goes into the pot!
* 1.5 tsp fresh grated/powdered ginger
* 1 tbsp. grapeseed oil
* 2 tbsp. organic coconut palm sugar
* A few cranks each of the pepper & salt mills
* 1 bay leaf
* 1/2 cup vinegar – (red, white, apple cider, balsamic) I’m sure all would work well
* 2 tbsp. chili powder
* pinch of grated nutmeg
* 10 (strips) pimento peppers – it’s all I had on hand, you could use roasted red peppers or fresh red peppers and just cook them down – it’s all going to be blended anyway!

Okay, while that’s cooking down a bit, let’s work on the potato wedges:
* 3 med potatoes, washed and cut into wedges.
** In a bowl, add potatoes, 1-2 tbsp. grapeseed oil, 1 tbsp. ea of paprika, garlic and rosemary and a sprinkling of salt and pepper. (I like strong flavours, add less if you don’t want so much PUNCH!)
** Mix up in the bowl until potatoes are evenly coated and place on a lined baking sheet. Place in the oven at 400F until golden brown and crispy, approx. 30-40 minutes, flipping half way through.

** Once your ketchup has been simmering for about 15 minutes, blend it up anyway you can until it is smooth. (Remember to take out the bay leaf before blending!) I left mine a bit chunky because… I like it that way.
IMG_20131016_211126
I was so happy to have ketchup without any yucky additives, especially ‘liquid sugar’ or ‘glucose/fructose’.
Just good ol’ fashioned ingredients and an incredibly yummy outcome!

I love it when first time food adventures turn out so well!

Hope you enjoy it too!

Feed your soul,
~xo

3 thoughts on “Savoury Potato Wedges w/ Homemade Ketchup.

  1. Oh the ketchup sounds wonderful!!!! Just out of interest, how much ketchup did that make? After all, I have 4 kids, 3 of them madly in love with all things ketchup!
    And what would you recommend instead of the coconut palm sugar? (not that I wouldn’t like to use that but I haven’t got any at home and am reluctant to buy a big packet of something I’m not likely to use again!)

    • Hey there!
      It is as wonderful as it sounds! I am now happily addicted.
      I kept eating the ketchup out of the pot, as I couldn’t wait to taste it with the wedges, so I would say overall about 500ml worth was made. I depends on how long you want to reduce the mixture for.
      If you choose to make this and double or triple the recipe, as your little ones LOVE ketchup, you may want to go a bit easy on the spices and alter them as you go to make sure they are not overpowering.
      I buy the coconut palm sugar at an organic bulk food store, so that way I can get as much as I need and none goes to waste (not sure if you have something this that near you). Alternately, agave, honey, brown sugar will do. What ever works for you! 🙂
      I was a bit skeptical w the coco palm sugar at first, but found that it really works well in lieu of white sugar for the majority of my recipes!
      Thanks so much and I hope you and your kiddos enjoy!

      • Oh brilliant. Thanks a mill! Think I’ve got all ingredients at home, so will give this a go later! 😀
        And no, I don’t have a blulk store near me. Something like that would be wonderful to have around!!! But I’m at our nearest organic/vegan/health store (The Happy Pear) later for an apple pie contest, might just see what they can offer me while I’m there!

Leave a Reply

