Blueberry, Chlorella & Kiwi Protein Smoothie

Blueberry, Chlorella & Kiwi Protein Smoothie

Good Morning too all!

Some days I go for a simple smoothie with a max of 3 ingredients.
Today, is not that day.

I packed so much into this thing, yet it still tastes GREAT!

Here we go:
INGREDS
* handful frozen blueberries and mango
* one kiwi w/skin on – it will blend up and you wont even notice it in there – peel if desired
* 1 scoop hemp protein powder
* 1 tsp maca powder – ENERGY, IGNITE!
* 1.5 tsp chlorella powder
* half a banana
* 1/2 cup almond/coconut milk
** at this point, if I’ve missed anything, you can just throw it in there too!

Blend ‘er up and you’ve got yourself a pretty impressive smoothie!

I have just recently taken an interest in chlorella (green algae). I have quizzed many people about it and done a wee bit of research too.  I discovered many similarities to that of spirulina (blue-green algae). I started taking spirulina a while back and have felt great ever since.  Many people suggested to alternate between chlorella and spirulina, since they do vary a little bit nutritionally. So one month I’m all about spirulina, and the next, chlorella!

Spirulina contains protein, vit A, iron, B vitamins including high amounts of B12
Chlorella contains protein, vit C, iron, B12, Magnesium and Zink

I don’t take multi-vitamins or anything (I guess these powders would be my version of such), and I rely on a variety of foods to give me the nutrients I need.
B12 is one of those vitamins that long-term strict vegans will not get in their plant based diet, so it is important to monitor your B12 levels, kids!

Symptoms of a B12 deficiency/absorption problem:
* Fatigue/weakness
* light-headedness
* pale skin
* rapid heart beat
* + more!!

Consult your doctor on more information if you are concerned.

I could barely function before I discovered I was B12 deficient, so monitor your health! It worked wonders for moi : )

Until next time!

Feed your soul,
~xo

3 thoughts on “Blueberry, Chlorella & Kiwi Protein Smoothie

  1. Wow! Spirulina, maca and cholera! Some days you just need a quick picker upper. Sounds like this smoothie will do the trick. I don’t use hemp protein powder, but I’ll throw in hemp seeds. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

