NOM NOM Falafel Bowl.

NOM NOM Falafel Bowl.

This is not your traditional Middle Eastern falafel dish/bowl/thing of beauty.
Dare I say it… it’s better!! Tee hee!

I LOVE MIDDLE EASTERN FOOD. And, I love a good kitchen challenge, especially the ones where I try to recreate something that I LOVE that is not vegan (that is a general statement. I don’t think falafel is vegan in resto’s because they don’t fry/grill separately… but don’t quote me on that). So far, I have been pretty spot on with the flavours, even when sneaking in foods that don’t really belong in some of the classic recipes.

MY tummy and taste buds are happy, so that is all that matters 😀

Like many things I cook/bake, I don’t really use a recipe. So I will try my best to estimate quantities below.

INGREDS – Falafel
* 1/2 cup canned chickpeas
* 1/2 grated veg of choice – zucchini, carrot, (sweet) potato
* 1 green onion chopped
* 1/4 flour of choice
* 1/2 tsp ea. turmeric & garam masala powder
* 1 tsp ground cumin
* juice of half a lemon
* pinch of S & P

–> My falafel balls were pretty wet, so UP the flour content if you want them more firm. They will dry out a bit in the oven so keep that in mind.
–> Make into balls, pat down so they lay flat and bake on a lined baking sheet at 350F for about 20 mins… the aromas will totally draw you in.. I warn you… 😉

NOM NOM’s in bowl
* Massaged kale salad with chopped carrot, red pepper, cucumber
* Boiled beets
* Sautéed sweet potato
* chopped cilantro/parsley
** TAHINI DRESSING: This was a thing of beauty… just whipped up some sesame seeds, cashews, garlic, s&p, water and lemon juice. JUST AMAZING.

I am a pretty simple eater so basic sauces and dressings really appeal to me.
LESS is MORE in this case : )

So go on, CRAZY FOODIES and make one of your favourite non-vegan dishes into a VEGAN MASTERPIECE! YOU GOT THIS!!

Feed your soul,
~xo

5 thoughts on “NOM NOM Falafel Bowl.

Leave a Reply

