VEGAN Raspberry Dark Chocolate Scones w/ Berrylicious Chia Jam!

VEGAN Raspberry Dark Chocolate Scones w/ Rasp&Blue Berry Chia Jam!

I couldn’t have imagined a more delicious outcome than these YUMMY things!

Dark chocolate, fresh raspberries and a sprinkle of organic cane sugar on top! OOH!
Refined sugar-free, dairy-free… my VEGAN heart is so content : )

I wish I could share these with all of you! A few taste testers this morning licked their plates clean…
I think that means they were good, ha, ha.

Here are the deets:
INGREDS – Scones
* 1 cup flour
* 2 tbsp unrefined sugar of choice
* 1 tsp baking powder
* pinch of salt
–> mix together in a bowl.
Now add:
* 2 tbsp earth balance
–> use a pastry cutter to cut in butter so it makes a crumbly dough.
Next add in:
* 1/4 cup almond milk
* handful of raspberries
* 1/4 cup chopped unsweetened dark chocolate
–> stir JUST to combine, don’t over mix.

Place on a lined cookie sheet, pat down, cut an ‘X’ on the top, and sprinkle with organic cane sugar. Place in the oven at 400F for 15-20 minutes. IMG_20130930_120141IMG_20130930_120308

Before I started REALLY watching the foods I ate, I would go to the local store to get a scone. They would be so heavy and sweet and not too long after, I’d feel tired and ready for a ‘food coma’ induced snooze. This isn’t the way food should be. You should eat and feel energized, balanced and alert… ready for the next challenge life has put forth for you.
When we eat sensibly, everything just sort of falls into place!

AND CHIA JAM, WHAT!!?!?
I’ve seen a bunch of recipes online featuring chia jam, and I just had to check it out for myself. I don’t know why I waited so long to try, and I don’t see myself going back to the ‘regular’ sugar-filled jams found at the supermarket.
This jam takes about 10 minutes and just pennies to make!

Chia Jam deets:
INGREDS
* Handful of raspberries and blueberries
* 1 tbsp coconut sugar
* 1 tbsp water
* 1 tbsp chia seeds

–> Add everything to a pot on med/high. Heat until fruit is mushy and squishy. Let stand for a 5-10 minutes so the chia seeds can soak up the natural juices from the fruit.

Too easy, right!?
You will be amazed and never pay for pre-made jam again! : )

Not only is this jam fit for anyone in your fam, but it boasts CALCIUM, PROTEIN, ANTIOXIDANTS and FIBER!

SUPER JAYUM!!!

Feed your soul,
~xo

Leave a Reply

